Intangible Cultural Heritage – an endorsement from government and scholastic institution

 

Culture, in short, refers to our daily life, our lifestyle. We fundamentally live in culture that constitutes our identity and values. It is not comprehension of the remaining factors of social phenomenon. Places in the world become more and more similar, under the influence of globalization. It is exceptionally important to preserve multicultural characteristics and conserve culture.

Heritage conservation is a significant part in cultural conservation. The importance of heritage is not limited to the value of history, aesthetics, architecture and science. The circulation of heritage from the past to present, also enhances sustainable development of culture and knowledge. Therefore, heritage conservation is itself a development. It meanwhile allows continuation of humanity development.

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) indicated that 'vanishing heritage is irreparable damage to everybody'. (UNESCO, 2001)

What is Intangible Cultural Heritage (ICH)? As stated in the Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), ICH covers the following five domains: 1) oral traditions and expressions; 2) performing arts; 3) social practices, rituals and festive events; 4) knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe; and 5) traditional craftsmanship.

Rich and diversified, ICH items cover every aspect of daily life in Hong Kong. Commissioned by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department to conduct this territory-wide research, the South China Research Center of The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology will be heading up this research, gathering ICH items which have significant historical and cultural value from the public.

Mr. Huen Pak Cheong, has studied so many years for his Ziwei Astrology academic collection (It is not superstition. It is a discipline of astronomical related knowledge). Ziwei Astrology was once regarded as the utmost imperial secret in the dynasties. Due to civil war, people from the dynasty passed it onto Mr. Lu in Shanghai, after generations, it eventually rested on the hands of Mr. Huen. This inheritance has been over a century.

Through joining the territory-wide survey of Intangible Cultural Heritage organized by Hong Kong government, it is hoped that this piece of valuable academics of Ziwei Astrology can be listed on the ICH inventory.

非物質文化遺產--政府認可及學術界的認可

 

文化――簡而言之――是指我們日常生活、生活方式。因此,我們根本生活在文化中;文化也就構成我們的身份、價值,而不是理解社會現象的剩餘因素。當世界在全球化影響下變得越來越相似時,多元文化、文化保育便顯得尤其重要。

文物保護是文化保育重要一環。文物的重要性,不單在於其歷史、美學、建築、科學等價值,也在於它能將過去帶到現在,從而使文化、知識等方面可持續發展。因此,文物保護本身就是發展,同時它也能使人文發展得以持續。

聯合國科教文組織(UNESCO)指出文物的消失「對我們每一個人來說是不可彌補的損失」(UNESCO, 2001)。

甚麼是非物質文化遺產? 根據聯合國的『保護非物質文化遺產公約』,非物質文化遺產包括五大類:(1)口頭傳統和表現形式;(2)表演藝術;(3)社會實踐、儀式、節慶活動;(4)有關自然界和宇宙的知識和實踐;以及(5)傳統手工藝。

香港的非物質文化遺產項目包羅萬有,且與生活息息相關。香港政府現已委聘香港科技大學,組成普查隊伍,並誠邀各界提供非物質文化遺產的相關資料。

而禤百昌先生曾多年研究的一套紫微斗數學術珍藏 (並非一套迷信之術,而是與天文學有關的科學性學術),是皇朝年代被視為不傳之祕,後來因戰亂,由皇朝人員傳到民間上海陸氏手裡,再一代一代的傳到禤先生這裡來。這是超過一個世紀的傳承。

藉著此次香港政府的非物質文化遺產普查,希望能夠把這套有價值的紫微斗數學術,列入為香港的非物質文化遺產清單內。